When two unlikely allies become two unwitting outlaws, will two unforgettable lovers defy unbeatable odds? Bonnie Rae Shelby is a superstar. She’s rich. She’s beautiful. She’s impossibly famous. And Bonnie Rae Shelby wants to die. Finn Clyde is a nobody. He’s broken. He’s brilliant. He’s impossibly cynical. And all he wants is a chance at life. One girl. One boy. An act of compassion. A bizarre set of circumstances. And a choice – turn your head and walk away, or reach out your hand and risk it all? With that choice, the clock starts ticking on a man with a past and a girl who can’t face the future, counting down the seconds in an adventure riddled with heartbreak and humor, misunderstanding and revelation. With the world against them, two very different people take a journey that will not only change their lives, but may cost them their lives as well.
Infinity + One is a tale of shooting stars and fame and fortune, of gilded cages and iron bars, of finding a friend behind a stranger’s face, and discovering love in the oddest of places.

 

Bubby: This is what, the 3rd novel by Amy Harmon that we have reviewed? That, in and of itself, should tell you how good Infinity + One is. It has engaging characters, perfectly drawn settings and beautiful dialogue – everything that one expects from the pen of our dear Amy. But for me, this novel is about moments of grace. They appear over and over again as we follow Bonnie and Finn’s adventure. Moments where a split-second decision changes the course of not only Bonnie and Finn’s lives but the lives of all those they touch. Of course, it all starts with Finn’s choice to save Bonnie instead of just walking away.

Sissy: We read a lot of books. Most of them are good, middling stories without much depth but nevertheless entertaining. But sometimes we find authors who are able to go beyond the superficial and get under our skin. Amy Harmon does this once again in Infinity + One. I know that an author’s least favorite question is “Where do you get your ideas?” but I found myself going there while reading this book. I just kept thinking that the plot is so unique and yet the love story is so well-done that it feels like you are reading about the love between people you’ve known for years. I truly cared about Bonnie and Finn. I felt that they were my friends and I wanted to be part of their lives. That is one of the  keys to outstanding writing.

Bubby: I loved that both Bonnie and Finn were just trying to be their most authentic selves – that they were tired of being who other people thought they were or should be. Bonnie wanted to be normal – to be loved for herself and not for her music or for her monetary potential or her stardom. And Finn wanted to escape who his past had forced him to be. I think that we all sometimes wish for the opportunity to start over fresh and create the identity that we feel we could have had under different circumstances. For example, I’m pretty sure that if Sissy had her druthers she’d be the Imperial Grand Duchess of some tiny European country – lots of money, lots of shiny jewelry and no real responsibilities!

Sissy: Exactly. In fact I am working towards that goal at this very minute. Give me a pony! Sometimes I become weary of analyzing books, their characters, the plot lines, blah, blah, blah and I just want to say how I FELT during the reading experience. That, for me, makes the decision between a thumbs up or a thumbs down or a middling hovering maybe. When I read Infinity + One I felt like I was transported into the story and lived and breathed it right along with the characters. I experienced frustration, angst, happiness, sadness, frustration and finally joy.

Bubby: You know that you said frustration twice, right?

Sissy: So maybe I felt it twice! So sue me! You messed up my reverie, Bubby. I was in the groove! You’re always messing up my stuff!

Bubby: It’s part of the “little sister” job description. Are you done with your eloquent waxing yet? I have things to say too…

Sissy:  I was going to say that when I came to the oh so satisfying end, I felt like I had awoken from a trance. I didn’t know who or where I was. And I just wanted to get back in the story. There were so many bits of dialogue that were nuggets of quotability. Again I wondered how someone could come up with all these wonderful things! Now I’m done.

Bubby: So in real life, I cry very easily. So much so that it’s a running joke with my children. But I rarely cry when reading – I know, it’s strange. However, there was one scene at the very end of Infinity + One where a particular character, a homeless man named William, just brings it all together and ties it up with a pretty satin bow. And I cried. So there. Oh, and we got an advanced copy from Amy herself – and I STILL went out and bought the finished product.

Sissy: As usual, I love me some Amy Harmon. 4.5 bubbles.

Bubby: Beautifully written. 4.5 bubbles from me too.

**This is a New Adult novel and as such has a few bits of language and so forth. No “F” words or nasty “nekkidness”, however.**

We received a copy of Infinity + One from the great Amy Harmon in return for a fair and honest review. Thanks, Amy!

Click HERE to buy Infinity + One by Amy Harmon at Amazon.com

© Bubble Bath Books 2014