Ruby Jewell knows flowers. In her twenty years as a florist she has stood behind the counter at the Flower Shoppe with her faithful dog, Clementine, resting at her feet. A customer can walk in, and with just a glance or a few words, Ruby can throw together the perfect arrangement for any occasion.
Whether intended to rekindle a romance, mark a celebration, offer sympathy, or heal a broken heart, her expressive floral designs mark the moments and milestones in the lives of her neighbors. It’s as though she knows just what they want to say, just what they need. Yet Ruby’s own heart’s desires have gone ignored since the death of her beloved sister. It will take an invitation from a man who’s flown to the moon, the arrival of a unique little boy, and concern from a charming veterinarian to reawaken her wounded spirit.

Bubby: I have a new mission in life. It is to go to my nearest bookstore and purchase every single book that Lynne Branard (also known as Lynne Hinton and Jackie Lynn) has ever written. And then I will sit in my comfy chair with my stack of books and disappear into a world of meticulously crafted characters and communities that feel like I’ve been there before. And when I’ve read them all (and don’t bother me until I’m done) I will be a better person, because this book touched my soul.

Sissy: Let it be known that I read this book first. I texted Bubby telling her that it was wonderful and that she must read it. Exactly 23 hours and 55 minutes later, she texted me back that she wished our mom could read it (highest praise ever) and that she was giving it 5 bubbles. It is not everyday that you read a book that not only entertains you and thrills you with the anticipation of romance but also makes you think deeply about your own life. The Art of Arranging Flowers is one of those rare treasures.

Bubby: I’d like to talk about my favorite character here, but I can’t choose. Of course I love Ruby Jewell, our main character but there are so many people that I connected with as if they resided in my own town. Oh, I’ve got it. I choose Henry. Sweet, shy, stuttering Henry who loves librarian Lou Ann from afar by sending anonymous bouquets for months before finally asking her out. And as it turns out, she has loved him from afar the whole time! And what he creates for her in his backyard! Amazing! But the whole book is full of little interconnected stories like this. So wonderfully done, I am still amazed.

Sissy: What about poor little motherless Will? I totally fell in love with him and wanted to bring him home with me. And I adored Captain Dan Miller, former astronaut. All the wonderful things that he had learned in his life experiences and shared with the people of Creekside really made me contemplate my existence. And then all the behind-the-scenes things he did that we don’t find out about until the end? Priceless. I even felt a great affection for Ruby’s dog Clementine. Basically, author Lynne Branard is a sorceress who casts a magical spell with her words and makes you become deeply emotionally involved with all her characters.

Bubby: There are several women in my life whom I love dearly that will be receiving a copy of The Art of Arranging Flowers as soon as it is published on June 3, 2014. It’s so lovely that it must be shared. 5 bubbles. 5 big huge rose-scented bubbles and I’d give it 6 if I could.

Sissy: When I find an author who writes like this, so transcendently and beautifully, I want them to live and write books forever. So Lynne, if you ever need a kidney, give me a call. 5 bright, unbreakable bubbles.

Click HERE to buy The Art of Arranging Flowers at Amazon.com

We received a copy of this book from Netgalley in return for a fair and honest review.

© Bubble Bath Books 2014