After being dragged to the 2005 movie Pride and Prejudice by her mother, sixteen-year-old Elizabeth’s life changes when Matthew Macfadyen’s Mr. Darcy appears on the screen. Lizzie falls hard and makes a promise to herself that she will settle for nothing less than her own Mr. Darcy. This ill-advised pledge threatens to ruin any chance of finding true love. During the six intervening years, she has refused to give any interested suitors a chance. They weren’t Mr. Darcy enough. Coerced by her roommate, Elizabeth agrees to give the next interested guy ten dates before she dumps him. That guy is Chad, a kind and thoughtful science teacher and swim coach. While she’s dating Chad, her dream comes true in the form of a wealthy bookstore owner named Matt Dawson, who looks and acts like her Mr. Darcy. Of course she has to follow her dream. But as Elizabeth simultaneously dates a regular guy and the dazzling Mr. Dawson, she’s forced to re-evaluate what it was she loved about Mr. Darcy in the first place. (From Amazon.com)

Sissy:  Before I talk about this book, I must inform you that Bubby has flown the coop, left the building, abandoned ship, gone awol, and washed her hands of me and this blog.  But do not despair–it is temporary!  She will be back next week to resume engaging me in witty repartee’ and thus you will only have to endure two blog’s worth of me talking to myself (not nearly as fun; bordering on insane).  Bubby is off gallivanting at a wedding somewhere in the Northwest, and I am left to my own devices.

Now let’s talk about My Own Mr. Darcy by Karey White.  I know what you’re thinking–another Mr. Darcy-themed book?  How many books based on Pride and Prejudice and/or its characters can there possibly be?  Jane Austin would probably be puzzled at the longevity of and obsessions over her best known work.  I admit it myself–the “new” Pride and Prejudice is my favorite all time movie, and the “old” six hour version with Colin Firth is my favorite mini-series of all time. We have reviewed at least two other books with Pride and Prejudice themes in this blog, so I’m afraid our own semi-obsession is undeniable.  But so what?  I’ll continue to read about Mr. Darcy until people stop writing about him or until they have to pry the books out of my cold, dead hands, whichever comes first.

My Own Mr. Darcy is a light-hearted, quick read, and I thoroughly enjoyed it.  Lizzy, the main character, seems to be a fun, smart, like-able girl, but in her quest to find the man of her dreams she is pretty blind and stubborn.  It is really frustrating to watch her try to choose between Chad and Matt because the answer is so obvious to the readers.  But don’t we behave just like this in real life–totally missing the mark because of our dumb paradigms and stupid obsessions?  And how many girls out there have had the experience of trying to make a guy fit into her idealistic role?  I know I have.  When Lizzy takes off her blinders and sees what’s real and true and important, she discovers who the man of her dreams really is.  Too bad that doesn’t always happen in real life.

Karey White has done an outstanding job of creating a magical, romantic tale.  The descriptions are well-done–usually I have trouble seeing something in my mind (would it be so bad to have pictures in novels?), but things came alive for me in this book.  I spent a lovely afternoon caught up in the world of Lizzy, Chad, and Matt.  Karey White has written three books, My Own Mr. Darcy, For What It’s Worth, and Gifted, and a novella, Maggie’s Song.  She has a new fan in me!  4 bubbles.

Click HERE to buy My Own Mr. Darcy by Karey White on Amazon.com

©2014 Bubble Bath Books