Advertising copywriter Leigh Koslow doesn’t pack heat–just a few extra pounds. And she doesn’t go looking for trouble. When she moved into her cousin Cara’s refurbished Victorian house, she wasn’t planning on discovering a corpse–certainly not one that had been embalmed ten years before. But as anyone in the small Pittsburgh borough of Avalon could tell her, her cousin’s house has a history attached. A history dating back to two mysterious deaths in the summer of 1949. Someone wants Leigh and Cara out of the house–someone who has something to hide. But that someone doesn’t know Leigh’s impetuous cousin, and when Cara digs her heels in, Leigh looks to her old college chum, local policewoman Maura Polanski, for help. But the answers the trio find only point to more questions. Were the scandalous deaths of fifty years ago really an accident and a suicide? Or were they murder? The nearer the women get to the truth, the more desperate someone becomes. Because some secrets are better off kept. Especially when they hit close to home!

Sissy:  We decided to do a new thing this Friday–revisit some previously reviewed favorite authors and tell you what else they have for you to read!  Because if you’re like me, when you read a good book you want to read everything else that author has written.  I remember when Agatha Christie died in 1976 (zip it, Bubby, I know what you want to say) and I felt so sad that re would be no more books in her own beloved yet specific style.  We originally reviewed Long Time Coming by Edie Claire in February of 2013, and thought you might like to know about her Leigh Koslow series.  There are nine books in the series so far, and the latest just came out this month.  Never Buried is the first book in the series.

Bubby:  You’ve got to love a story that starts off with a dapperly dressed dead man in the backyard hammock!  I may never be able to nap in my hammock again!  I loved all the twists and turns in this wonderfully written cozy mystery.  I especially enjoyed the relationship between Leigh and her cousin Cara, even though I have to admit I wasn’t too fond of Cara’s husband Gil.

Sissy:  Since when were you ever in a hammock?  And what’s wrong with Gil?

Bubby:  I’ve spent many happy hours in hammocks, thank you very much, and hope to install one in my current backyard soon.

Sissy: Your imaginary hammock?  And you don’t have any trees from which to suspend it.  But,  first thing when you get some trees and a hammock, I am going to install a surprise there for you!

Bubby:  I guess they didn’t have hammocks with their own frames back in your day….like 1976.  And I do have trees.  Very small trees.  And there’s nothing wrong with Gil, except that he is overbearing and ever protective and thinks that money can solve all problems.

Sissy:  Anyway, the thing about Never Buried by Edie Claire is that it starts off with a wallop and careens crazily from caper to caper in a most entertaining fashion.  Bet you’ll never guess “who done it” or why or even how until it all shakes out at the end.  4 pasty, corpse-like bubbles from the geriatric!

Bubby:  Great story.  I fully intend to get the rest of the series immediately.  I might even let Sissy borrow them if she’s nice.  4 bubbles from me too.

Click HERE to buy Never Buried by Edie Claire from Amazon.com

© 2014 Bubble Bath Books