A deliciously charming novel about finding true love . . . and yourself. Nothing ever happens in Little, CA. Which is just the way Carter Moon likes it. But when Hollywood arrives to film a movie starring former child star turned PR mess Adam Jakes, everything changes. Carter’s town becomes a giant glittery set and, much to her annoyance, everyone is starry-eyed for Adam. Carter seems to be the only girl not falling all over herself to get a glimpse of him. Which apparently makes her perfect for the secret offer of a lifetime: playing the role of Adam’s girlfriend while he’s in town, to improve his public image, in exchange for a hefty paycheck. Her family really needs the money and so Carters agrees. But it turns out Adam isn’t at all who she thought he was. As they grow closer, their relationship walks a blurry line between what’s real and what’s fake, and Carter must open her eyes to the scariest of unexplored worlds – her future. Can Carter figure out what she wants out of life AND get the guy? Or are there no Hollywood endings in real life?(From Netgalley.com)

Sissy: I! Loved! This! Book! Call me a star-spangled sapster, call me a stuck-in-my-teenagehood starry-eyed lulu, but what the heck! Catch A Falling Star is the sweet and delightful tale of unlikely love that every teenage girl dreams of.

Bubby: Well, then. Star-spangled sapster? I like it! And I loved the book too. It was delicious. The romance, both scripted and real, between Carter and Adam was quite nice and well done but it was the relationship of the three friends that I enjoyed the most. Alien Drake and Chloe have got to be some of the best friends ever written. And yes, you read that right. It’s Alien Drake. You’ll see why when you read the book.

Sissy: Carter Moon is as real of a girl as real can get. She works hard in the family diner, helps her dad keep it all together while activist mom is off doing her thing –

Bubby: And don’t forget that she loves her delinquent brother in spite of himself. Just like I love you.

Sissy: Right. She’s good to her troubled brother John, just like Bubby is always feeding and caring for the poor unfortunate Sissy. Not. And our hero, the actor Adam Jakes starts out being a real spoiled brat stinkpot but we find hidden layers of goodness as we peel off the outer crunchiness, much like a deep-fried onion. Bubby is so stunned by my depths of literary philosophy that she can’t think of a thing to say. After that, I should just give my bubble count and shut down the review, right?

Bubby: Let’s write a blog, she said. It will be fun, she said. Had I only know the full extent of her insanity before I agreed, you’d not be reading this right now!

Sissy: Bubby knows in her soul that her life would be completely pathetic and boring without me, which is sort of how Adam thought all his fans felt about him.

Bubby: Oh, so much I could say here. To be safe (Sissy is giving me that impending violence look) I will just stick to how I feel about Catch A Falling Star. And avoid speaking further of my sister’s many and varied personality quirks. So. I have decided that no matter how good the celebrity life may seem on paper, it is actually pretty horrible. To be expected to be perfect at all times, be available to everyone 24/7, to project the perfect “image”, it’s just all too hard. I can see why so many celebrities are messed up. Adam seems to be in this category at the beginning of the novel. Fortunately for him, the staged romance with Carter shows him what he’s missing.

Sissy: When you’re so handsome and good-looking like Adam, it is hard to get over yourself and let people into what’s inside. It’s also hard for people to see past your looks. It becomes really tiring for me when all the time people can’t see past my gorgeous face. I just want to say, “Look! There’s a real person here!”

Bubby: I am thinking that NOW it’s time to shut down the review. Sissy has obviously missed a pill or two recently and I think I need to limit her exposure to the public!

Sissy: I was going to say that in Carter, Adam finds the one person who sees him, really SEES him and in the end he cannot let her go. Love it x 100! I also liked how they started out each chapter with “Yesterday’s Sightings”, which is the three friend’s blog about the sky and the stars and their philosophy of relating star sightings to real life.

Bubby: I loved that also. Catch A Falling Star by Kim Culbertson is a winner. A great read for teens and adults alike. 4.5 bubbles.

Sissy: Great read.

Bubby: I just said that.

Sissy: Okay, Ms. Snobby Thesarus-Pants. It was a splendid, tip-top treatise. 4.5 froths of effervescense.

Bubby: That was better.

Click HERE to buy Catch A Falling Star by Kim Culbertson at Amazon.com

We received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in return for a fair and honest review.

© Bubble Bath Books 2014