Chira Kelly thought she didn’t need anyone…until she met BenBecause of one ugly rumor, Chira lives as an outcast at her school. Which is fine with her, because she works better alone. Always has, always will. And at least she has her one and only true friend, Tasha. When Tasha insists that they join a group to visit a possibly haunted abandoned old schoolhouse, she’s wary, but joins her friend. Because of that decision, their lives are in jeopardy as a malevolent spirit targets the group. Tragedies and accidents pick them off one by one, and Chira finds herself drawn to the one person who can see the truth. But can he protect her?

Sissy: The story begins by introducing us to Chira, a young adult protagonist who is so complex, yet extremely well fleshed out by the author.  She has a dodgy home life with a verbally abusive step-father and a mostly absent mother.  Her school/social life is just as bad.  But she is strong, independent, determined, and very relatable.  We next meet our hero, Ben, explained in his own words  “…I’m a Shadow Maven. I see the truth that most people can’t, like impressions or demons.”   Does this whet your appetite?  How about a haunted house, unexplained “accidents,” and a sweet, slow-paced hint of romance?  I knew it–you want to read it!

Bubby:  So, I don’t do haunted houses.  Or scary movies.  Or anything like that.  I am a wuss.  Scary books are the only exception.  Unfortunately, I did not realize that First Impression was going to be creepy/scary, and so I managed to completely freak myself out and had to stay up all night in case the axe-wielding zombie demons came.  Seriously, though, it was a great story ( and there really are no zombies or axes).

Sissy:  Bubby is indeed a right gaping scaredy cat.  I didn’t even blink an eye–just enjoyed thoroughly this first YA paranormal mystery from Pauline Creeden.  I only remember having nightmares from a book on two occasions–once from an early Mary Higgins Clark and the other time from an early Orson Scott Card.   Ghastly and disturbing, they were, but this is not anything like those.  I can’t say much more without spoiling things, except I was surprised often and didn’t guess who (or what) dunnit.  Mwahahahahaha!!

Bubby: And now I’m scared again!  Great story, great characters.  Just read it with the light on…4 bubbles

Sissy:  What a milquetoast!  Read it in the darkkkk….aaaagh!!  3.9 moaning bubbles from me.

Click HERE to buy First Impression by Pauline Creeden at Amazon.com

We received a copy of this title from Netgalley in return for a fair and honest review.

© Bubble Bath Books 2014