Interior Decorator Madison Night has modeled her life after Doris Day’s character in Pillow Talk, but when a killer targets women dressed like the bubbly actress, Madison’s signature sixties style places her in the middle of a homicide investigation.

The local detective connects the new crimes to a twenty-year old cold case, and Madison’s long-trusted contractor emerges as the leading suspect. As the body count piles up like a stack of plush pillows, Madison uncovers a Soviet spy, a campaign to destroy all Doris Day movies, and six minutes of film that will change her life forever.

Bubby: When I was little (and not so little) I used to watch old Doris Day movies on TCM with my mom. Pillow Talk was always one of our favorites. Not as good as The Pajama Game but wildly entertaining all the same. I never had the desire to model my own personal style after Doris Day, though, unlike our main character Madison. She seems a little “stuck in the 60’s” to me. She owns an interior design store called Mad for Mod that’s all mid-century stuff and she drives a vintage car and dresses in vintage clothes. I get the appeal but I think Madison is so entrenched in the lifestyle that it’s actually holding her back from progressing in her life.

Sissy: I personally think that everything about the 60’s should stay in the 60’s. Since I was actually alive then, I can bear witness that all the furniture and clothing and hairstyles were hideous. Howsomeever, Madison sounds like she does the 60’s well and she’s cute and fun. If there are people out there who actually want to design their houses in mid-century style (because they have no taste) then more power to them. This was a very fun cozy mystery romp. Plenty of the requisite dead bodies (only people we didn’t care about, mind you), nice little secrets and twists and a satisfying love triangle.

Bubby: My favorite characters in Pillow Stalk were the elderly swimming friends. Madison swims regularly at a community pool that is frequented by old geezers (one of whom has “roaming hands” if you know what I mean). The descriptions of these seniors are just hilarious. I have made it my new goal in life to be an elderly swimmer – just so I can wear a bathing cap with pink rubber flowers on it. Pretty sure Sissy has one that I can borrow.

Sissy: Don’t be jealous of my pink flowered swimming cap. One day you’ll be as cool as me. The thing I liked most about Pillow Stalk was that I could not figure out who the perpetrator was until I was told at the very end. Also it was very fast paced and all the Doris Day movie references are great fun. I can’t wait to read book number two, That Touch of Ink. Warning: after hearing all the descriptions of Madison’s cute 60’s clothes and how cute she always looks, you may be tempted to go try on some 60’s couture. Do not do it. No one looks good in 60’s clothing unless they are built like Twiggy.

Bubby: Who’s Twiggy?

Sissy: Put down those white vinyl boots, Bubby!

Bubby: Pillow Stalk is a fun, quick moving, keep-you-guessing mystery that I really enjoyed. 3.75 bubbles.

Sissy: Fun and retro groovy. 3.75 cool cat bubbles for me.

Click HERE to buy Pillow Stalk by Diane Vallere at Amazon.com

© Bubble Bath Books 2014

We were given a copy of this title by Netgalley in return for a fair and honest review.