Dive into the fabulous, fun lives of six Academy girls as their friendships are tested, torn and ultimately triumph. It’s obvious that Dante thinks he’s way too good for Lizzie. And Lizzie knows Dante is a snob with a gift for pressing her buttons. But things are changing fast this year at the Academy. And when Lizzie’s quest to stop those changes blows up in her face, taking her oldest friendship with it, she has nowhere else to turn but to Dante, with his killer blue eyes, his crazy-sexy smile, and his secrets… Secrets Lizzie can’t seem to leave alone, no matter how hard she tries. The last thing that the girls at the elite Jane Austen Academy need is hot guys to flirt with. But over the summer the school has been sold, and like it or not, the guys are coming. And it’s about to turn the Academy—and the lives of its students—totally upside down…(From Netgalley.com)

Sissy:  There were things I liked and disliked about this book.  I liked that it was a quick, enjoyable, YA romance read.  I didn’t like it as a Pride and Prejudice retelling, because I thought the parallels were too vaguely drawn.  I liked that the main character Lizzie is a smart, hard-working student who likes a good journalistic challenge and does not back down in the face of pressure from the nasty headmistress.  I don’t like that Lizzy is negative and judgemental, and somewhat disloyal to her best friend Emily.

Bubby: Ah, but Lizzy gets over herself and fixes her relationship with Emily by the end. I agree that it was quite difficult to find traces of Pride and Prejudice in this story, so I’ve decided to ignore that bit and just review it as a regular young adult story. The best part of Fall For You is that everything works out. Cecilia Gray really wraps up the story nicely and ties it with a pretty bow. There are 4 Jane Austen Academy books currently available with 2 more forthcoming. Some of the characters might appear in more than one book but they can all definitely be read as stand-alone novels.

Sissy:  The fact that many of the characters we are introduced to will live on in their own novel is a draw for me.  I actually liked this book better than Bubby did, and despite my pride I will admit her prejudice did rub off on me. Ba dum bum!

Bubby: Nicely done there, Sissy!

Sissy:  Anywho, Fall For You has all the requisite emotions of YA high schoolishness and is well-written enough to make it a pleasant  Friday afternoon reading distraction.  I give it 3.5 bubbles.

Bubby: I agree. Perfect for curling up on the couch with a slice of pizza in hand, whether you are a teenager yourself or old enough to reminisce about high school days gone by. 3.5 bubbles.

Click HERE to buy Fall For You at Amazon.com

©  Bubble Bath Books 2014

We received a copy of Fall For You by Cecilia Gray from Netgalley in return for a fair and honest review.