For Macallan and Levi, it was friends at first sight. Everyone says guys and girls can’t be just friends, but these two are. They hang out after school, share tons of inside jokes, their families are super close, and Levi even starts dating one of Macallan’s friends. They are platonic and happy that way.

Eventually they realize they’re best friends — which wouldn’t be so bad if they didn’t keep getting in each other’s way. Guys won’t ask Macallan out because they think she’s with Levi, and Levi spends too much time joking around with Macallan, and maybe not enough time with his date. They can’t help but wonder . . . are they more than friends or are they better off without making it even more complicated? (From Goodreads.com)

Sissy:  I think I use the word “delightful” too much so I will say Better Off Friends by Elizabeth Eulberg was adorable, agreeable, and pleasing.  I sat in my new sleep number bed at zero G setting and read it, and had you looked at my face you would have seen the cat who just licked up all the cream (sans post-licking lactose intolerance tummy ache).  The story is told from the alternating viewpoints of our hero and heroine in the past tense, and each chapter cleverly ends with a paragraph or two of bantering commentary between the two in the present.  Loved it.

Bubby: Better Off Friends is advertised as “When Harry Met Sally for teens”. It’s a pretty good description. Macallan and Levi become friends right off the bat and stay that way, off and on, through the whole book. Their parents think they are cute and their friends think they are weird. I wish the book had gone a bit further though. Yes, they end up together, but does it last? Do they end up happily ever after? They are only in high school. One wonders what the future holds for these two.

Sissy:  I did wonder what the rest of the story was and at what point in life the bantering couple at each chapter end was.  Were they happily married?  College sweethearts?  Two weeks later?  Anyway, it is quite charming how we can see inside the heads of both Macallan and Levi, but at the same time are wishing they would know how the other was feeling.  But I guess that would make the story too short and rushed and perhaps change the outcome.  Time and place, and all that.  I thought the characters were sweet and engaging.  I had a best friend who was a guy in high school, and although we “like” liked each other off and on it was never at the same time.  We spent so much time together people always thought we were a couple, but we never were. So this made Better Off Friends relatable to me.

Bubby: I also had a best guy friend in high school, but we actually tried to be romantically involved. It lasted for approximately 12.5 seconds and afterwards our friendship was never the same. I wished that we had just stayed friends and not done the dating thing. I supposed this experience might make me a little jaded about the future of Macallen and Levi’s relationship! But I also have several friends that fell in love in high school and have now been happily married for years and years. I guess it just all depends.

Sissy:  This story is not very deep or complex so its hard to think of what to write about it.  That may sound like a negative but it is truly not—I was blissed out by this simple, well-written tale.  If you want to feel happy and content as a crumpet, bite into the little slice of heaven that is Better Off Friends.  4 bright and sunshiney bubbles.

Bubby: I agree. Sometimes you want complicated and thought provoking and deep and other times (more often for me) you want happy and fluffy. Better Off Friends fits the happy and fluffy category quite nicely. 3.75 bubbles.

Click HERE to buy Better Off Friends at Amazon.com

© Bubble Bath Books 2014

We received a copy of this title from the publisher in return for a fair and honest review.