Meet Sloane Emily Jacobs: a seriously stressed-out figure skater who choked during junior nationals and isn’t sure she’s ready for a comeback. What she does know is that she’d give anything to escape the mass of misery that is her life. Now meet Sloane Devon Jacobs, a spunky ice hockey player who’s been suspended from her team for too many aggressive hip checks. Her punishment? Hockey camp, now, when she’s playing the worst she’s ever played. If she messes up? Her life will be over. When the two Sloanes meet by chance and decide to trade places for the summer, each girl thinks she’s the lucky one. But it didn’t occur to Sloane E. that while avoiding sequins and axels she might meet a hockey hottie—and Sloane D. never expected to run into a familiar (and very good-looking) face from home. It’s not long before the Sloanes discover that convincing people you’re someone else might be more difficult than being yourself. (From NetGalley.com)

Sissy: I thought this was just a peach of a book. A unique little storyline, girl bonding, romance and ice sports, this book caught my interest right off the bat. I enjoyed every bit of the read.

Bubby: I must admit, I am a bit of a figure skating nerd. I love watching the competitions on tv, love the intricacies of the techniques and REALLY love the sparkly costumes. Mind you, I can’t skate to save my life, but if I had been a little petite thing with access to a skating rink, I’d like to think that I could have given Nancy Kerrigan a run for her money! (If you don’t know who Nancy Kerrigan is, this may not be the novel for you. There are TONS of skating references here – salchows, triple axels, “pulling a Tonya Harding”, etc.) Hockey, now, not really my thing – although when I lived in Detroit the Red Wings were in the finals and it got pretty exciting. At any rate, we’ve got a hockey chick and a figure skater and when they switch places, they both learn that the opposite sport is not as easy as it looks!

Sissy:  That’s the book in a nutshell, Bubby. Both girls think the other is not as good as the other in their sport. They make fun of each other’s style of clothing and mannerisms and they both think that their family problems are worse than the other girl’s problems.

Bubby: What would you rather deal with? An alcoholic mother or a high-profile father with a scandal looming on the horizon? Worst thing we had to deal with was being the principal’s daughters!

Sissy: I would rather not deal with any of it, thank you!  While the life lessons learned in this book are the same as in hundreds of other books, I thought the setting and setup were refreshing in Being Sloane Jacobs.  The writing was very smooth.  If I had any complaint at all it would be that things were wrapped up too quickly and neatly, and I would have liked the ending to be more complex.  I had this same complaint for book three of the Hunger Games series, so author Lauren Morrill is in good company.  Anyway, I too love watching figure skating–at our house growing up it was a nice break from football.  Which is all that was on during certain portions of the year.  Did I mention we only had one old TV set?  So you see how the rare glimpse of feminine sports and sparkling attire was like unto heaven for us.

Bubby: I agree! But I can see the appeal of hockey as well. It’s a lot like football on ice, isn’t it? At any rate, Being Sloane Jacobs was a great read with great characters. I enjoyed it almost as much as I enjoyed Tara Lipinski’s 1998 Olympic long program. This novel is set to release on January 7, 2014, so get on over to Amazon and preorder it or go ask your librarian to put it on the “must buy” list. 3.5 bubbles.

Sissy: Although Tara Lipinski’s surprise winning program was stunning, I was devastated for Michelle Kwan. I have never recovered. But I did enjoy Being Sloane Jacobs and you will too. Go get it. 3.5 bubbles.

Click HERE to buy Being Sloane Jacobs at Amazon.com

We were provided a copy of Being Sloane Jacobs by the publisher in return for a fair and unbiased review. No other considerations, monetary or otherwise, were given.

© Bubble Bath Books 2013