Marianne Daventry will do anything to escape the boredom of Bath and the amorous attentions of an unwanted suitor. So when an invitation arrives from her twin sister, Cecily, to join her at a sprawling country estate, she jumps at the chance. Thinking she’ll be able to relax and enjoy her beloved English countryside while her sister snags the handsome heir of Edenbrooke, Marianne finds that even the best laid plans can go awry. From a terrifying run-in with a highwayman to a seemingly harmless flirtation, Marianne finds herself embroiled in an unexpected adventure filled with enough romance and intrigue to keep her mind racing. Will Marianne be able to rein in her traitorous heart, or will a mysterious stranger sweep her off her feet? Fate had something other than a relaxing summer in mind when it sent Marianne to Edenbrooke. (From Goodreads.com)

Sissy: I read this book a few weeks ago and really liked it, but I didn’t tell Bubby about it because she is a Regency romance snob. She is very vocal about the fact that she finds them insipid, inane, redundant, ridiculous. In other words, she doesn’t like them and she considers herself far above the whole genre. (She just tried to blow a raspberry at me and ended up spitting on herself which was quite hilarious and made my day).

Bubby: Did not! (While wiping spit off her own chest . . .)

Sissy: At any rate, imagine my confuzzlement when Bubby calls me and tells me we must review this fabulous book called Edenbrooke. What happened, my uppity snobbish one?

Bubby: You’re right. I don’t particularly care for Regency romances. However, let me just paraphrase what Julianne Donaldson herself said: she grew up reading Georgette Heyer, queen of the Regency genre and wanted to write something similar while making it more accessible to the modern reader. That’s me. Miss Modern Reader, right here. Julianne Donaldson said that she tried to accomplish this by moving the story along at a quicker pace and leaving out some of the unnecessary elements. Thank you very much, Julianne Donaldson. I loved Edenbrooke. It was divine. And I didn’t have to wade through 20 pages of wardrobe descriptions (the third pearl button on the cuff of her French-embroidered soigne twinkled in the reflected light from his 18-karat gold hand engraved cufflinks bought at Snooty DeVillier’s on Broad Street . . .) or 50 pages of “she glanced his way. He caught her eye, so she immediately lowered her countenance and scurried to the rose garden lest he espy the unbecoming rose blush upon her cheeks . ..” and similar time-wasting genre specific garbage. I felt quite refreshed to have a story set in a time period that I am actually quite fond of and not get bored with all the minutiae.

Sissy: Well said, Bubby! Edenbrooke is a delectable story set in Regency England. I really don’t have anything else to say after Bubby’s paragraph. I think she used all the words in the whole dictionary. Our readers should just buy the book, recline on their fainting couches and have a splendid afternoon.

Bubby: Oh come now. Wouldn’t you like to discuss how yummy Sir Phillip is? Almost on par with the admittedly incomparable Colin Firth? Or we could compare and contrast the relationship of Cecily and Marianne to our own sisterly bond.

Sissy: Oooh! I’ll bite! How even though you’re shallow like Cecily and I am grounded like Marianne, we still love each other to bits?

Bubby: Not exactly what I had in mind, but sure. I don’t think either of us have much in common with Cecily, though. She is all about the money and the status and how good she looks sitting side-saddle. We are both more like Marianne. Can you imagine living in a time period when gently bred young women were expected to do nothing more than receive callers, do embroidery and play the piano while looking attractive to possible suitors?

Sissy: We’d have WAY too much fun with that. Kind of like how Keri Russell’s character in Austenland sings something inappropriate whilst playing at the pianoforte.

Bubby: Hmm. Wouldn’t know. Someone went and saw that movie without me. Moving on now!

Sissy: If you read the synopsis of Edenbrooke, you may think that it is indeed a formulaic Regency romance. But Julianne Donaldson’s writing is so refreshing, you feel like you are reading a whole new genre. I give Edenbrooke 4 tightly corseted bubbles.

Bubby: We have family issues, romance all over the place and a perfect setting. What more could one wish for? (I have already purchased Julianne Donaldson’s next book, Blackmoore – that’s how much I liked it!) 4.5 perfectly proper bubbles from me.

Click HERE to buy Edenbrooke by Julianne Donaldson at Amazon.com

©2013 Bubble Bath Books