Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection. All but six have been sent home. And only one will get to marry Prince Maxon and be crowned princess of Illea.
America still isn’t sure where her heart lies. When she’s with Maxon, she’s swept up in their new and breathless romance, and can’t dream of being with anyone else. But whenever she sees Aspen standing guard around the palace, and is overcome with memories of the life they planned to share. With the group narrowed down to the Elite, the other girls are even more determined to win Maxon over—and time is running out for America to decide.
Just when America is sure she’s made her choice, a devastating loss makes her question everything again. And while she’s struggling to imagine her future, the violent rebels that are determined to overthrow the monarchy are growing stronger and their plans could destroy her chance at any kind of happy ending. (From Goodreads.com)

Sissy: First of all, if I were rating the covers of the books in the Selection Series, straight 5’s baby. Each cover has a lovely girl in a stunning dress that any girl of any age would want to wear. When I saw the cover of the first book, The Selection, I was immediately attracted to it, like a magpie to a diamond. And the final book, The One, is coming out in the spring. See, aren’t they gorgeous?

Seriously, could I just wear that white gown with my tiara? I swear I would never take it off! Fortunately, the stories are just as fabulous as the fashion.

Bubby: I. Want. These. Dresses. I don’t know what I would do with them, maybe just hang them on the wall as art? Wow. But let’s get into the story, here. So The Elite is book #2 (you don’t technically need to have read book #1 but it helps) of 3 books total, not counting the 2-in-1 novella book called The Selection Stories. These shorter stories tell a little background about our main characters. I haven’t read them yet, but Sissy has! Speaking of characters, I have a bit of an issue with our male leads. On one hand we have dashing Prince Maxon – heir to the throne of Illea, handsome, rich, all that and a bag of chips. On the other hand we have Aspen – childhood sweetheart of America who has become a palace guard just to be near her. Also handsome and dashing etc., etc. Here’s my problem. They are both twerps. Maxon is a lustbucket. He says he loves America but then he’s off snogging with the other girls. And when he gets caught he’s not even remorseful! And Aspen. First he loves America and then he breaks up with her and now he wants her back. I just want America to have a man who wants her, only her, with no strings attached. I don’t think either of these guys has her best interests at heart.

Sissy: Are you sure you’re finished? Or do you want to write another five pages? Don’t mind me, I’m not doing anything. *Yawn*

Bubby: Well, actually –

Sissy: Step away from the computer. Yes, the romance is delightfully frustrating. I just want America to decide! I like the premise of this series. A dystopian former USA cum United States of China (because China really owns us, surprise!) cum Kingdom of Illea. We have returned to a monarchy and put in place a caste system to “protect” the citizens from their own ignorance. To show the good citizens of Illea how down-to-earth monarchy can be, the crown prince is allowed to choose his bride from any caste. Maxon struggles between standing up to his father (evil despot!) and waiting to be in power himself so that he can change things for the better. Oh, the roiling conundrum!

Bubby: Yes, there is much intrigue and connivery (yes, we made up the word. Deal with it.) going on in the palace. Maxon is sneaking around and trying to defy his father, America is sneaking around with Aspen and there’s lots more that I just can’t tell you about. You’ll have to read it for yourself.

Sissy: The quote from Publisher’s Weekly best sums it up: “A cross between the Hunger Games (minus the blood sport) and The Bachelor (minus the blood sport).” Ha! Would that I had been clever enough to write that quote! 4 bubbles from me.

Bubby: Lots of fun. 3 3/4 bubbles from me.

© Bubble Bath Books 2013

Click HERE to buy The Elite by Kiera Cass at Amazon.com