After losing her job and leaving her beloved husband, journalist Gemma Hendricks is sure that scoring an interview with Colin Firth will save her career and marriage. Yet a heart-tugging local story about women, family ties, love, and loss captures her heart— and changes everything. The story concerns Bea Crane, a floundering twenty-two-year-old who learns in a deathbed confession letter that she was adopted at birth. Bea is in Boothbay Harbor to surreptitiously observe her biological mother, Veronica Russo—something of a legend in town—who Bea might not be ready to meet after all. Veronica, a thirty-eight-year-old diner waitress famous for her “healing” pies, has come home to Maine to face her past. But when she’s hired as an extra on the bustling movie set, she wonders if she is hiding from the truth . . . and perhaps the opportunity of a real-life Mr. Darcy.

These three women will discover more than they ever imagined in this coastal Maine town, buzzing with hopes of Colin Firth. Even the conjecture of his arrival inspires daydreams, amplifies complicated lives, and gives incentive to find their own romantic endings.  (From Goodreads.com)

Sissy: I read this book whilst blissfully ensconced in a camping chair beside a burbling brook in the Wasatch Mountains, drinking an ice-cold diet soda, snacking on M&Ms and feeling that really, nothing could be better than that.

Bubby: I don’t remember where I was when I read Finding Colin Firth, but I do remember that I loved this storyline. Although, I have to admit something. And please, don’t hurl overripe fruit at me – but I don’t get the whole “Colin Firth” thing. He’s cute and all, and I think he’s a great actor, but there seems to be this mystique and other-worldly attraction that I can’t comprehend.

Sissy: Blasphemy! I fell in love with Colin Firth during the 6 hour PBS Pride and Prejudice miniseries.

Bubby: Not sure I ever saw that . . .

Sissy: I can’t be held responsible for the culturally deprived morass in which you reside. Anyway, Colin Firth is slightly more attractive than the usual man (the British accent is the clincher), a good actor and he seems down to earth, which makes him wildly appealing. I love the newer Pride and Prejudice but let’s be real here. That was all about Keira Knightly and not the broody boots who played Mr. Darcy. Colin Firth is everyman while at the same time being Mr. Darcy.

Bubby: OK, then, what’s with the Mr. Darcy thing? I don’t get that either. Why are women thrilled by a man who ignores and irritates them right up until he suddenly confesses his love?

Sissy: Clearly you need to watch the movie with me while I provide patient notes so that you can understand what every other woman in the world already gets. But that is really not what Finding Colin Firth is about anyway. A great ensemble cast of characters with interweaving story lines captures the reader’s heart. There is Bea, a daughter looking for her biological mother, Veronica, a woman looking to face her past and Gemma, a journalist torn between family and career.

Bubby: And pie! Lots and lots of pie! Veronica, a waitress who has returned to Boothbay Harbor after years on her own, is famous all through town for her Elixir Pies. And not only are the pies yummy, they are also “healing pies”. There’s Amore Pie (for finding love), Cast-Out Pie (to take away jealousy and other bad feelings), Happiness Pie, Spirit Pie (to remember loved ones who have passed away), even Hope Pie, Feel-Better Pie and Confidence Pie. I really want to try my hand at the Hope Pie – salted caramel cheesecake.

Sissy: I think that author Mia March’s main point in telling this story is that we all tend to undervalue happiness in our lives. Veronica always says that her pies don’t have any magical ingredients but just have “prayers and wishes and hopes baked in.” Perhaps it’s just that –if everything we did in our life was done with the expectation of happiness, every act done with wishes and hopes baked in, we might find a lot more happiness.

Bubby: Very wise, elder one. I agree. On the subject of happiness, let’s talk about Gemma a little bit. Now I realize that my reaction to characters and story lines is always affected by my own life and that I filter everything through the sieve of my own experiences. However, Gemma vexed me to no end. She has a fantastic husband who loves her with his whole soul. She is expecting a baby. She has in-laws who, obnoxious as they might be, love her and are thrilled to be a part of her family’s life. And is she happy? No! She wants everything she can’t have. She wants to live where she wants, have the career she wants and doesn’t really care that her wants are taking away other people’s happiness. I wanted to smack her for being so selfish.

Sissy: Wow. Tell us how you really feel. Gemma annoyed me as well but not to that extent. I totally got how she felt suffocated at the idea of being constantly with her husband’s large extended family. While the way she handled things wasn’t great, I think that by being completely open and honest with her husband they could have come up with a satisfactory compromise much sooner.

Bubby: I am glad that Gemma and her hubby were able to figure it all out eventually. In fact, that is one of the parts about Finding Colin Firth that I loved. It had a great ending. Is everyone’s life perfect and full of unicorns and rainbows now? No, but it’s better than it was. I highly recommend this read. 4 bubbles.

Sissy: Finding Colin Firth by Mia March hits the top of Sissy’s Favorite Summer Reads list.

Bubby: You have a list?

Sissy: Stop interrupting me. People are dying to get ahold of that list! I give it – the book, not the list – 4 3/4 bubbles.

Click HERE to buy Finding Colin Firth by Mia March at Amazon.com

© Bubble Bath Books 2013