Dr. Victor Frankenstein is dead but he has left something behind – two twin daughters. Now 17, these girls have recently learned of their true heritage after being raised by their maternal grandfather. They soon realize that they are not only wealthy but owners of an abandoned castle on an island north of Scotland. Even though the girls are identical twins, they couldn’t be more different. Ingrid is passionate about science and is drawn to the experiments her father tried to perfect. Giselle wants nothing more than a life of glamour and high society. But something evil is lingering at Frankenstein’s castle and the girls soon realize that there is nowhere safe to hide.

Bubby: Since Sissy is busy saving the world at the moment, I will start today’s review. This was just a fun read. I wasn’t sure what to expect when Sissy presented me with a book titled Dr. Frankenstein’s Daughters. Were they his biological daughters? Or were they creatures that he had created in the lab and was just calling his “daughters”? But no, they are the real flesh and blood daughters of Victor and his dear wife and as such, they seem to have channeled their parents’ personalities. Giselle is much like I imagine her mother was – beautiful, feminine and drawn to all things social and glamorous. Think “Real Housewives of Scotland”. Ingrid is scholarly and studious and cares nothing for fashion. Even their names seem to reflect their personalities.

Sissy:   I have to admit I am thrilled when I find a book that not only is well-written but also has a unique concept and is a bit bizarre–something that will make Bubby give me that look that means “what drivel have you dug up this time?” and then when she reads it she has to say those precious words “you were right!”  Bubby just showed her extreme grace and maturity by blowing a raspberry at me.  I think I am much more the Ingrid type in our sisterhood.  Oh, and by the way, this book has a gratifyingly disturbing twist at the end.  Shocking and goosebumpy.

Bubby: Oh, yes. I did love the twist. I was just reading along, thinking I knew what was going to happen, la la la la la and then suddenly it was “Oh my goodness! No way! Seriously!” and other such exclamations of delight and disbelief. Well done, Suzanne Weyn. Well done. As for Sissy being the Ingrid to my Giselle, well, I will just remind her that the book mentions several times how much more beautiful and polished Giselle was than Ingrid. And Ingrid is a little, well, obsessive. Especially about recreating her father’s experiments. So I suppose that if Sissy is the type to enjoy a good dissected corpse, then she would be the Ingrid! Giselle does have her moments though.

Sissy:  Black curses to the universe that I cannot retort as I wish to your comments, Bubby, else I would spoil the book for everyone.  I’ll just squirm, make a rude face, and change the subject.  The love interest for Ingrid is interesting and expands the plot ginormously–let’s just say that love can be blind and obsessive.  I always like a story where the heroine comes into a great deal of money by inheritance because I wish that would happen to me.  But since all my predecessors are penniless sheep farmers, all I can hope for is a wool blanket or two.  The island where this tale is set seems like the most bleak and dreary place in the world, so I wouldn’t want to inherit property there anyway.  I think I felt chilled throughout the whole reading experience, so my advice to you, dear readers, is to wear a warm cardigan whilst reading this entertaining little book.  That’s another thing I liked about it–it wasn’t 500+ pages long like some of Bubby’s favorites, so I could read it through without going into a coma.

Bubby: I do believe, dearest Sissy, that our dear departed Daddy referred to our ancestors as sheep stealers, not herders. And there is nothing wrong with a big book. Just because your ancient brain finds it difficult to maintain a coherent thought past 1200 words doesn’t mean – oh never mind. I am too tired to insult you properly today. I would suggest to our readers that they forgo the cardigan and instead employ the bubble bath, for this is a perfect book for it. It’s witty, different and keeps you guessing all the way through. I’d love to see a sequel done but due to the culminating events of the story, I don’t think one is possible. But who knows? They are, after all, Frankenstein’s daughters. Nothing is impossible. I give this lovely little creepy gem 4 bubbles.

Sissy:  Ooh, the possibilities are percolating in my brain…but again, I forbear to speak lest I reveal the plot too much.  This is a peculiar, but enjoyable read.  4 bubbles from me too.

Click HERE to buy Dr. Frankenstein’s Daughters by Suzanne Weyn at Amazon.com