Julia Beckett has always known that Greywethers was her home, from the very first time she saw it at age 5. Now, 25 years later, the house is finally hers. But it’s not just a house. It also seems to be a portal back in time. Julia is unpredictably and uncontrollably thrust back into her former life as a 17th century woman named Mariana. As she continues to travel back and forth from past to present, her past experiences threaten to overtake her current life. Can she lay the past to rest or is she doomed to lose love in both lives?

.

Bubby: So for a few months now Sissy’s eldest daughter’s best friend Jenny has been bugging us to read this book. “It’s fabulous!” she said. “Marvelous! A must read!” And did we listen? Nope. Totally ignored her. Until one day she finally forced Sissy to buy and read Mariana by Susanna Kearsley – shortly after which Sissy told me to read it RIGHT NOW. And I did. And I am so glad. Hands down one of the best books I’ve read in a long time.

Sissy: I totally agree and thank you thank you to helpful Jenny Joonie Poonie. Mariana by Susanna Kearsley is a sweeping romance that spans across time. The writing is brilliant. This was one of those “don’t talk to me until I’m finished with this book” books – where your teenage boys are standing around looking hungry and you just tell them to go make themselves a quesadilla.

Bubby: It was utterly spellbinding. I was completely drawn into the character’s lives – I loved Julia’s brother Tom. I was concerned about how Mariana would escape the clutches of her evil uncle. I wondered who her 17th century love Richard De Mornay had been reincarnated as.

Sissy: Reincarnated as? Bubby, you cannot end a sentence with a preposition. It makes my insides writhe.

Bubby: Nope. Your inside writhing is coming from too many prunes, not my writing. Sorry about the improper grammar. I shall endeavor to improve myself. Anyway, as I was saying, was it the Iain the Scottish gardener? Was it the Geoff, Lord of the Manor from up the hill? Was it the bartender’s assistant? I shall never tell. You’ll have to read the book to find out!

Sissy: There are other secret romances in this story as well. I enjoyed the character of Aunt Freda Hutherson who has “the sight” and serves as a guide to Julia. She reminds me of myself because I think I have “the sight”, as well.

Bubby: You think you have “the sight”, do you? Just because Grandpa saw little blue men running around his house shortly before his death (he was 99 – and a little demented) doesn’t make you “gifted”. Sorry. If anyone around here has “the sight” it’s me. Cause I’m special. I love this book for so many reasons, one of which is the descriptions of the lovely English countryside. I’ve mentioned before that I like to pretend I’m British – this time I was pretending I was British, with a lovely home in the countryside, complete with herb garden and dovecote. Delightful.

Sissy: Pearls before swine. There is a reason that gifted people like Aunt Freda, Julia and myself don’t discuss our gifts with outsiders. But you are right about one thing. You ARE special. And you ARE British. I have the genealogy to prove it.

Bubby: I have predominantly British ancestors, but until I set foot on the cobblestones of the village square and have tea and crumpets with Devonshire cream in the village tea shop, I must remain, sadly, American. Boo. Perhaps we should plan a trip . . .

Sissy: Mariana is a wonderful book that filled me with anticipational anxiety as I waited with every page turn for her to pop back into the past. Would she be in danger? Would her body wander about unsafely in the present? Would she escape the plagues and imprisonment of the 17th century and be allowed to return? Would she figure out who her own true love embodied in the present? Read it. You’ll love it.

Bubby: Fantastic book. I am anxious to read some of Susanna Kearsley’s other novels. If they are even half as good as Mariana, buying them will be money well spent. I give this fabulous book 4 1/2 bubbles.

Sissy: Yes, you can buy them and then loan them to me! 4 1/2 bubbles from this member of the gifted community.

Click HERE to buy Mariana by Susanna Kearsley from Amazon.com

Click HERE to buy Mariana by Susanna Kearsley from BookDepository.Com

© Bubble Bath Books 2013