18-year-old Celaena Sardothien is an assassin.  While serving out a sentence of hard labor in the salt mines for her crimes, she is summoned to an audience with the Crown Prince,  Prince Dorian.  He offers to return her to full freedom if she will be his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin. Each member of the king’s council is to sponsor a champion- all grown men except for Celaena.  If she can beat out her opponents in a series of elimination challenges, she’ll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted freedom.  While she enjoys her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, she is bored and irritated by court life until suddenly one of the other contestants turns up dead. And then another.  Now Celaena must find the killer before she becomes the next victim.

Bubby: This is a fantastic debut by a new author. Loved it, loved it, loved it. I strongly recommend reading the four “prequel novellas”. They deal with Celeana’s life before the events in Throne of Glass and give a great look into her background. There are quite a few references in the novel to events that happened in the prequels so that might be confusing if you haven’t read them. (The novellas are The Assassin and the Pirate LordThe Assassin and the EmpireThe Assassin and the Underworld and The Assassin and the Desert.)

Sissy:  A bit violent. Enjoyed it nonetheless. It made me want to spruce up my assassin-ninja skills.

Bubby: It’s a book about assassins. Did you think it was going to NOT be violent? I didn’t think that the violence level was very high at all. Not anywhere near Hunger Games level, for instance.

Sissy:  True that. However, what were you thinking, Bubby, when you threw me into this moral dilemma? How do I reconcile the fact that I love this protagonist and her companions when they kill people for a living?

Bubby: Yeah, I just ignored that part. I decided to assume that they only killed naughty people and so that makes it o.k. It’s not any different than a murder mystery, is it?

Sissy:  I actually really liked the fact that there was a female heroine who kicked butt on all the guys.  Kinda reminded me of myself.

Bubby:  Umm. Yes.  That’s what I was thinking all the way through. “Wow! The way Celaena just took that guy down TOTALLY reminds me of Sissy!” Not. But I did love the book and I can’t wait until the next installment in the series is published.

Sissy: If you like complex characters, intrigue and romance, do read this book. I give it 3 bubbles.

Bubby: I loved it. Have I mentioned that I loved it? 4 1/2 bubbles all day long.

Click HERE to buy Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas at Amazon.com

Click HERE to buy Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas at BookDepository.com

 

©Bubble Bath Books 2012