Maggie is a 17 year old orphan who has just found a home with her elderly aunt in Texas. When she begins working part-time at the high school, she quickly finds herself deep in a 50 year old unsolved mystery and deep in love with a ghost – a boy who is neither alive nor dead but imprisoned in a purgatory from which he can find no release.

Bubby: We came across this book as a recommendation from a mutual friend. I was skeptical at first because Amy Harmon is a self-published author and there’s a lot of not-so-good in that field, but Sissy insisted I read it.

Sissy : Bubby fancies herself to be somewhat of a literary guru, which is why she was initially skeptical, but I was immediately drawn in to this story.  Also, author Amy Harmon has a really cool middle name.

Bubby: I couldn’t have been more wrong in this case – yes, I am admitting I was wrong.  I was hooked after the first chapter. This book is set in both modern day and in the 1950’s, an era I just love.  What’s not to like about poodle skirts, fabulous cars and boys with slicked-back hair and letterman jackets? Each chapter is titled after a classic 50’s song and I have to admit that I was singing along in my head, okay, out loud, as I read.

Sissy: I don’t much care for oily hair, but young love, time travel, and an original twist on the paranormal are all things I like in a story, and I’m just deluded enough to think I’m not too far  removed from the YA lit demographic.

Bubby: Ha! I am pretty far removed from that demographic and I’m WAY younger than Sissy!

Sissy: As I was saying before I was rudely interrupted by my infant sister, Ms Harmon is a natural storyteller, yes she is, and that means when you read this book you will float right into the tale and be compelled to promptly purchase book two.

Bubby: I completely agree. The sequel is “Prom Night in Purgatory” – just as good as the first book. I also suggest checking out “Running Barefoot”, Amy Harmon’s debut novel.

Click HERE to buy Slow Dance in Purgatory by Amy Harmon at Amazon.com

Click HERE to buy Slow Dance in Purgatory by Amy Harmon at BookDepository.com

© Bubble Bath Books 2012