When Lance Michelli’s grandmother sends him on a quest to uncover forgotten family secrets, he ends up at a villa in Sonoma, CA. He needs answers, but the villa is now owned by Rese Barret, a young woman who wants nothing to do with Lance or his mission. At first adversaries, a fierce attraction brings them closer together as they begin to uncover a mystery that has been hidden for decades.

Bubby: This is a great love story.  An added bonus for me was that great Italian cooking is featured prominently all the way through. No recipes, though. Too bad. The characters here are very dynamic – Lance and Rese go through lots of growth, both personally and in their relationships with others.

Sissy: Growth, schmowth! I wanted to slap Rese upside the head because it took her so long to behave like I wanted her to behave. Plus, I was confused at first as to whether they were in Italy or California.  And when books talk about food all the time, all I want to do is eat. 

Bubby: Schmowth? Is that even a word? Sissy forgets all the issues that Rese had to overcome.  I did want her to move it along a bit faster, but it all turned out great. Or maybe not. Read it and find out! And just to clear up any confusion, the book begins in New York, goes to Italy for a bit and ends up in California.

Sissy: I enjoyed the book enough to purchase the second and third installments in the series. Bubby also forgot to mention the delicious historical mystery that lurks within the pages.  I still want to slap Rese in the head.

Bubby: What kind of person goes around wanting to slap people in the head all the time? Now I can’t remember what else I was going to say about the book.

Sissy: Come on, Bubby, I’m the one in the menopausal haze! What about the skeletons? Secret passageways? Hidden treasure?

Bubby: Not to mention The Mob, a few wacky friends, and a loud dysfunctional family. Wait, are we talking about the book or our last family reunion? All joking aside, this is a great read. I really got drawn into the story and couldn’t wait to see how it all turned out.

Sissy: Definitely read this book. I give it 3.5 bubbles.

Bubby: Yep. 3.5 bubbles from me too.

Click HERE to buy Secrets (The Michelli Family Series #1) by Kristen Heitzmann at Amazon.com

Click HERE to buy Secrets (The Michelli Family Series #1) by Kristen Heitzmann at BookDepository.com

© Bubble Bath Books 2012